Power Plants in Malaysia

Malaysia has 55 utility-scale power plants in operation, with a total capacity of 28794.5 MW.

Name Capacity Type Other Fuel Commissioned Owner
Batang Al 103.0 MW Hydro
Bersia 48.0 MW Hydro
Bukit Palong Solar Power Plant 3.0 MW Solar Gaya Dunia Sdn Bhd
Connought Bridge 828.0 MW Gas
GB3 640.0 MW Gas
Gebeng Solar Power Plant 10.0 MW Solar Petronas
Gelugor 330.0 MW Gas
Gemas Solar Power Plant 10.2 MW Solar Yingli Solar
Genting Sanyen 762.0 MW Gas
Hijau Solar Power Plant 8.0 MW Solar Gading Kencana Sdn Bhd
Hulu Terengganu 250.0 MW Hydro
Jasin 50.0 MW Solar
Jimah power station 1400.0 MW Coal 2009 Jimah Energy Ventures Sdn Bhd
Kapar Energy Ventures (KEV) 2420.0 MW Gas
Kenering 120.0 MW Hydro
Kenyir 400.0 MW Hydro
Kuala Langat 50.0 MW Solar
Kuala Lumpur Airport Solar Power Plant 19.0 MW Solar Kuala Lumpur International Airport (KLIA)
Kuala Perlis Solar Power Plant 6.0 MW Solar Ambang Fiesta Sdn Bhd
Kuala Sawah Solar Power Plant 5.3 MW Solar Cypark Renewable Energy Sdn Bhd
Kudat 50.0 MW Solar
MIRI 79.0 MW Gas
Manjung power station 4180.0 MW Coal 2009 TNB Janamanjung Sdn Bhd
Melawa (SESB) 44.0 MW Oil
Merchang 50.0 MW Solar
Mukah Coal power station 270.0 MW Coal 2009 Sarawak Energy Bhd Group
Pahlawan Power 322.0 MW Gas
Pajam Solar Power Plant 13.0 MW Solar Cypark Suria (Pajam) Sdn Bhd
Paka 1136.0 MW Gas
Pergau 600.0 MW Hydro
Prai Power 350.0 MW Gas
Putrajaya 625.0 MW Gas
Ranhill Powertron (IPP) 190.0 MW Gas
Ranhill Powertron II (IPP) 130.0 MW Gas
Rimba Terjun Solar Power Plant 2.0 MW Solar Rentak Raya Sdn Bhd
SG. Piah Lower 54.0 MW Hydro
Sandakan Power Corporation(IPP) 34.0 MW Oil
Segari 1303.0 MW Gas
Seguntor Bio Energy (IPP) 12.0 MW Biomass
Sejingkat power station 210.0 MW Coal 2001 Sejingkat Power Corp
Sepang 5 5.0 MW Solar
Sepangar Bay Power Corporation (IPP) 100.0 MW Gas
Serudong Power 36.0 MW Oil
Sultan Aziz power station 1600.0 MW Coal 1996 Kapar Energy Ventures Sdn Bhd
TG. Kidurong 192.0 MW Gas
TNB Prai 1071.0 MW Gas
Tanjung Bin power station 3244.0 MW Coal 2010 Malakoff Bhd
Tawau Power Station (SESB) 64.0 MW Oil
Teknologi Tenaga Perlis Consortium 650.0 MW Gas
Temenggor 348.0 MW Hydro
Tenom Pangi 66.0 MW Hydro
Tg. Bin Energy 2100.0 MW Coal 2016
Tuanku Jaafar (PDI) 714.0 MW Gas
Tyanku Jaafar (PDII) 708.0 MW Gas
YTL Paka 780.0 MW Gas

Data Information

This data is a derivitive set of data gathered by source mentioned below.

Data Sources

Global Energy Observatory/Google/KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm/Enipedia/World Resources Institute/database.earth